Sony STR-DN1080 Reviews

$1,099.00 from Kogan AU
Manufacturer: Sony
Expert Reviews: 
 4.3
User Reviews: 
 4.0
Features
Usability
 4.5
Features
 4.7
Product design
 4.8
Sound
 5.0
 
 

Sony STR-DN1080 7.2 Dolby Atmos Wi-Fi Network AV Receiver Review

No reviews
Verdict: They say that the mark of a truly good audio system is that it's transparent. And we couldn't think of a better way to describe Dolby Atmos through the Sony STR-DN1080 . We didn't hear individual speakers, we heard the sound as if we'd been picked up from our room and plunked down in the center of...
2 years ago
 

Flawed Excellence

5.0
Verdict: A have been living with this Sony for about 6 months now. The amp was mainly bought for its exceptional performance as a bi-wired amp driving my Tannoy V4s. It delivers hidden depths to CDs you might have been listening to for years.
1 year ago
 

Sony STR-DN1080 A/V Receiver Review

3.6
Verdict: It's been several years since I've had a Sony AV receiver in my rack, so when the STR-DN1080 arrived on my porch, I was eager to see what the foundational brand's 7.1-channel Dolby Atmos/DTS:X model had to offer.
Pros: Fine amplifier sonics and power, Excellent, quick-responding home-network streaming plays most formats, including HRA and DSD, Speaker Relocation & Phantom Surround feature
Cons: Scales only 1080p/24 video to 4K
2 years ago
 

Sony STR-DN1080

4.4
Verdict: With the rise and rise of sound bars , could AV receivers are on the way out? Ask any home theater enthusiast and they'll tell you "no," but for many buyers who just want better sound for their TVs and music, a massive, black, input-infested box is much more intimidating than a skinny bar.
Pros: The Sony STR-DN1080 offers all of the features you could want in a modern receiver -- multiroom music, Chromecast streaming, Dolby Atmos and a slew of 4K-compliant inputs. Sound quality is excellent, especially for movies.
Cons: Sound quality is a little less full than on last year's model, meaning it may not be quite as forgiving of bright speakers. Google Home control failed in our tests
2 years ago
 

Sly Sony

5.0
Verdict: Had this receiver/ amp for a couple of months now, and I am fully satisfied with it's options and abilities. Truly impressed with the clarity and power, and with my surround sound system, I hear, with the utmost clarity, things in the background of a video or movie I've never experienced before.
2 years ago
 

Not fit for purpose

5.0
Verdict: I bought this because it had great reviews and it also has a HDMI Zone 2 function, which i now think it was put in there as an extra as it doesn't work properly or maybe i got a dodgy system, zone 2 stays on for a bit and then starts flashing black screen and no it's not the HDMI cable as when i put...
4 months ago
 

A nice upgrade!

3.0
Verdict: This unit replaced a Denon AVRE400, which wasn't a bad piece of equipment. The Sony is SO easy to set up. I wasn't able to use the automatic calibration feature because all of my speakers are bi-polar but thanks to the easy to use GUI, I was able to manually configure everything.
Pros: Easy to set up; more than enough power to fill a decent sized room; seems to have the right technology whenever I upgrade my Tv and Dvd player
Cons: nothing really I can point to. I would have liked to used my iPod Nano with this but it's just too old
8 months ago
 

Sony STR-DN1080

4.0
Verdict: First I will say that this unit replaced my Sony STR-DN1040 that I was happy with. The only reason I replaced the 1040 is that it didn't support HDR and 4K content looked really dark on the 1040. 4K HDR is stunning now with the STR-DN1080 and sound continues to be fantastic.
5 months ago
 

Amazing Sound Definition, Lacking Essential Basics

4.0
Verdict: I needed an AV receiver capable of 5.1 surround sound with the option to enable an Atmos setup in future and also to handle 4K sources with HDR and Dolby Vision support. I initially purchased a Yamaha RXV 683 AV Receiver, the menu and GUI system were nothing amazing but did the job, the HDMI CEC...
1 year ago
 

basic with small issues

5.0
Verdict: Fairly basic AVR. Won't take off for lack of major features like no internet radio as it's a lesser model with a lower price point. AVR menu is lacking and poorly designed. CEC has issues (a device turns on AVR, AVR switches to device and turns on TV, AVR then switches off device because TV turned...
1 year ago
 

Sony STR-DN1080

2.0
Verdict: I've had this now about 6 weeks. I upgraded from the Sony 5.1 to this one - so i figured it would work sort of the same. One of the main reasons for upgrading was that this amp had 2 outputs - so i could put one to my 4K tv and one to the HD projector! you would hope!
8 months ago
 

Over achiever!

3.0
Verdict: I've had this receiver in my home theater system for over two months now and although I've already written an earlier review on the Best Buy site where I purchased it, I feel compelled to write another follow-up review now that I've had more time using it.
1 year ago
 

Service exceeded expectations

5.0
Verdict: Unit is an integral part of my home entertainment system, powering the audio and switching video components with each while allowing me to interface easily with my smart devices. Plenty of power to drive speakers in a mid - large family room, one of Sony's best offerings and value for the price.
1 year ago
Powered by
X